Home > Life > Boy meets Girl- Part 2

Boy meets Girl- Part 2


Our family felt that morally bride’s family will take more time as they need to think a lot before giving their girl.  Well…our situation was like awaiting an examination result without knowing pass/fail.

In a blown state of mind we entered Annapoorna, the most popular hotel in Coimbatore, known for its taste of Sambar and coffee. I should say the cost of our snack bill was equal to a breakfast bill in A2B at Bangalore. As I tweaked my wallet into the pocket after paying the cash, an advice bobbed up from my sister “Don’t keep looking at the wallet…from now on you should start loading more cash…”

We headed back home in our two wheelers. I lost interest to look at my FESTINA watch now but was eager to see the wall clock as I always admired its display for its appealing golden dials. It was about half past 12.

Family members got into series of discussions as to when to keep the engagement, marriage…blah blah. Should say that’s how the curiosity my family would show and have been showing since a long time about my marriage…my mother has had drawn plans as whom to give dress materials (silk sarees and silk dhotis). She even had already filled one section of wardrobe in the last year for that sake. Just for a matter of one day event in my life!!

Few of the touted minds started to talk about their “privileged” relatives to be invited for marriage. My sister-in-law started making the list. In agony I stopped everyone in continuing the marriage subject and reminded them that girl is yet to say YES and we are waiting for their family’s decision.

With tautness in everyone’s face, kids too started reacting to this situation slowly. My niece and nephews were cribbing for their leaves going waste simply. Even the other adults in the family-bro, sis-in-law, sister, bro-in-law have taken a day off from their job. One of my nephews was kidding me “You went in the morning to the parlor for doing the facial…ha ha ha…it is all going waste now”. I got infuriated over the kids as they too started to harass me this way…what a state of pity I am in?

Troubled with appetite, I had little lunch, I insisted my sister-in-law to make sure that the mobile was not switched off or left abandoned as the marriage broker would call only to her number.

At around 2:00 P.M, all our avidity increased heavily such that my bro-in-law tried calling the marriage broker. With sad face he came back to us and said “She has switched off the mobile”. Luckily someone reminded my bro-in-law “Why don’t we call girl’s father itself, you anyway have his number”.

With a reluctant mind he called to his number and asked “ I am Sathish’s bro-in-law…you said you will let us know the result in 1 hour. We are waiting for it as we need to inform our relatives”. Words cannot be described about my “future” father-in-law’s sincerity to his job. Though retired from service he is continuing his job on request from company. Gracefully he picked this call while in office. He told “We parents liked the guy, but waiting for the girl. She left office right from temple due to some urgent work. So we are yet to discuss on her decision. Can we tell it by 6:00 P.M as she will be back from work”.

More agony in everyone’s behavior. Do not know whom to convince. My bro went furious such that he was about to get that phone and break it. We had to cool him down saying bride family are like that. This family looks to take little more time to tell their thoughts.

There was another reason to get angry because we were about to commit to other family to see one more bride the next day. Due to my short trip to India several things were clogged and we could not afford to delay as everything was pre-planned while I was in Germany.

There was a rib-tickling incident happened during my first Skype meet with this girl. Their parents were looking for an auspicious day to have a chat. The Skype id was shared with atmost care referring to astrological timings.

Our family started suspecting that they might be delaying due to this. So my sister pulled the monthly calendar from the wall and started looking for the timings. She said “Time is good only…no issues…then why are they not calling??”

Tea time neared as the clock struck 6 o clock. Just to revert back….we left from the temple at 11:30 A.M. Have completed lunch and tea but didn’t receive the call from bride’s family….

Suddenly anger and frustration were diverted towards me. My bro asked  “Did you ask the girl whether she liked you or not”. I started to get back to my conversation with the girl what I had in the morning. I remember I didn’t ask this question….. neither she didn’t ask me. I had to admit my lack of knowledge in such things. In return I replied to my bro “I am pretty much sure she liked me..there is no doubt”.

In between, calls came from relatives who was updated about this event of ours wanting to know the result. One after the other relatives started perstering through phone calls asking as “What happened?”.

At around 7:00 P.M my bro-in-law called to the broker to enquire the status. Surprisingly she picked the call and stated that her husband was hospitalized and could not pick the call. She pleaded sorry to us. Had to pity on her emergency but felt diligent on our frustrated dependency on her. She said “I just now called them. They said the girl arrived from office and is parking the 2 wheeler inside. We will wait for 5 minutes”.

My mom sprinted with joy on overhearing as her second daughter-in-law also knows to drive a two-wheeler! Good for her…!

We all thought that the girl needs only 5 minutes to decide and why we had to wait from morning for this. There is severe lack of understanding on either side or indulgent on my purpose of visit.

At last the call came from the broker….

To be continued..

  1. January 15, 2012 at 8:50 AM

    dude, that sounds agonizingly frustrating! I hate the suspense and it’s not even my future. ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

